Heartmender by V. Romas Burton

Title: Heartmender
Author: V. Romas Burton
Rating: 5 stars
Genre:  YA Fantasy
Published: Sept 3, 2019

Synopsis: (from goodreads)
In the land of Barracks, the economy thrives on the barter of their citizens’ most precious commodity—a human heart. Each year, the Heart Reign festival is thrown for those who have become of age to trade their hearts for their deepest desires.

And this year is Adelaide Tye’s year to trade.
After despising Heart Reign for years, Addie endures her Extraction and discovers that her heart isn’t gray and dying, like all other hearts in Barracks, but bright red, alive, and teeming with power.

With a warning from the extractor of hearts, Addie rushes through Heart Reign to make her choice—trade her heart to Schism, the monster who took her brother years before, or go in search of the Mender—a mythical man said to purify hearts and save her own heart. Either decision will rip her away from the one man who has always been by her side.

Knowing there is only one real choice to make, Addie jumps through Schism’s red door and is thrust into a dark and dangerous realm where she is faced with making a trade she may not survive.

For fans of Stephanie Garber’s Caraval and ABC’s Once Upon a Time.

Review:

What can I say about V. Romas Burton’s debut book Heartmender?
It’s amazing!

It’s been a long time since I’ve read a good allegory and Heartmender is fantastically done and belongs right alongside authors such as Ted Dekker and C.S. Lewis.

The choices that Addie goes through were great representations of the choices we can face daily.

Burton has done a great job with the character growth of the main character. She’s not a Mary Sue, she has flaws and experiences failures, which make her wins that much better.

Heartmender does deal with the tough issue of anxiety, but I shared this book with a friend and she said it helped her.

This book kept me up at night, it was definitely an ‘I can’t put this down, I must read the next chapter’ type of book. I really enjoyed the world Burton built. Each realm Addie walks into when she goes through a door was very vivid and well described, I could picture it in my head and it felt like I was with her.

To break down why I like Heartmender:
– Main character is relatable
– Great world building
– attention grabbing story
– allegorical and related to my own life
– a hint of romance

Burton just released book 2, Heartbreaker, and let me tell you, it is a heartbreaker! It did not disappoint. That review to come in a later post.

I 100% recommend Heartmender. Go get it now! Order here

Find out more about the author at https://vromasburton.com/ 

About The Author

I am a lover of Jesus, music, and books. Music has always been a big part of my life, so much so that it led me to meeting my husband at the Ichthus Music Festival in 2009. I’m a graduate of Regent University and a former writer for the retired magazine ONCOURSE. I live with my husband, 2 kids, and 3 furbabies: 2 cats and a dog. When I’m not writing or listening to music, you can find me knitting/crocheting with a good book on audio or dancing with my husband and kids.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!