MercyMe and Zach Williams Receive Top Awards at the 48th Annual GMA Dove Awards

The Gospel Music Association (GMA) handed out honors in 39 categories at the 48th Annual GMA Dove Awards plus special industry recognitions at Lipscomb University’s Allen Arena in Nashville. Kari Jobe and Tasha Cobb Leonard hosted the sold-out show.

MercyMe was named Artist of the Year and Zach Williams took home New Artist of the Year. Hillsong Worship’s What a Beautiful Name received two awards,  Song Of The Year and Worship Song Of The Year. Gospel music legend Pat Boone received the SoundExchange Fair Play Award. Reba McEntire took home her first Dove Award and closed out the evening with a powerful performance.

From first-time nominees to legends, the all-star lineup came together for one of Gospel and Christian music’s most memorable nights. Trinity Broadcasting Network (TBN) will exclusively air the awards show on October 22 at 8 p.m. CST.

 Photo credit: Grant Exline & Jamie Gilliam
Artist of the Year:

MercyMe, Fair Trade Services

New Artist of the Year:

Zach Williams, Provident Label Group

Song of the Year:

“What A Beautiful Name” (writers) Ben Fielding, Brooke Ligertwood, (publisher) Hillsong Music Publishing

Contemporary Christian Artist of the Year:

Casting Crowns, Provident Label Group

Gospel Artist of the Year:

CeCe Winans, Pure Springs Gospel

Songwriter of the Year (Artist):

Bart Millard

Bluegrass/Country/Roots Album of the Year:

Sing It Now: Songs of Faith and Hope: Reba McEntire (producer) Reba McEntire, Jay DeMarcus, Doug Sisemore

Rap/Hip Hop Album of the Year:

The Waiting Room: Trip Lee, (producers) Gabriel Azucena, James Foye III, John McNeil, Joel McNeil, Alex Median, Allen Swoope, Almondo Cresso, Chris Mackey, Joseph Prielozny, Tyshane Thompson

Rock/Contemporary Album of the Year:

HARDLOVE – NEEDTOBREATHE, (producers) NEEDTOBREATHE, Joe Levine, Dave Tozer, Ed Cash, Ido Zmishlany

Pop/Contemporary Album of the Year:

Lifer – MercyMe (producers) Ben Glover, David Garcia

Southern Gospel Album of the Year:

Resurrection – Joseph Habedank, (producer) Wayne Haun

Contemporary Gospel/Urban Album of the Year:

Let Them Fall In Love – CeCe Winans, (producers) Alvin Love III, Tommy Sims

Worship Album of the Year:

Never Lose Sight – Chris Tomlin, (producers) Ross Copperman, Jeremy Edwardson, Ed Cash

Producer of the Year:

Bernie Herms

Inspirational Film of the Year:

The Shack – (directors) Stuart Hazeldine (producers) Netter Productions, Summit Entertainment

See full list of winners here


“Get Plugged In!” To JesusWired
Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Email | Pinterest | Instagram | Soundcloud | RSS | Advertise