Bethel Music’s 2016 Dove Award-Nominees Jonathan David & Melissa Helser Release Beautiful Surrender Album

Worship leaders and songwriters Jonathan David & Melissa Helser have internationally released their eighth recording and first new album in four years, Beautiful Surrender, Sept. 30 from Bethel Music and through Provident Distribution. Widely recognized for their 2016 “Song” and “Worship Song of the Year” GMA Dove Award-nominated hit single “No Longer Slaves,” which is featured as a bonus song on the new album, the upcoming project marks the duo’s first studio release as part of the Bethel Music Artist Collective. The album invites listeners to find true joy in surrender without reservation to God.

Recording Beautiful Surrender in Nashville, TN with Grammy Award-winning, four-time Gospel Music Association Dove Award-winning “Producer of the Year,” Ed Cash, who also co-wrote several songs on the album, the husband and wife duo trade lead vocals across the album’s tracks. They also decorate each arrangement with intricate harmonies along with instrumentation from their band, the Cageless Birds.

Writing or co-writing all the songs, the Helser’s weave an intentional tapestry of the core message into the new album, redefining surrender for this generation.

“Surrender is to cease resistance, yield control and give oneself up to the power of another. When you find the One your heart loves, surrender is a beautiful, effortless fall – not a duty or a task,” the couple shares. “When Jesus said ‘follow me,’ they saw everything they ever wanted and joyfully surrendered all they had. What would it look like to truly surrender without reservation, without caution, and give in fully not to an idea of God, but to God himself?”

The title track, which sets the tone for the new album, “Find Me,” a song of thanksgiving and prayer, and “Catch The Wind” are all available now for immediate download from iTunes with preorder of Beautiful Surrender.

Other songs featured on the album include “You Came (Lazarus),” which paints a picture of the power of Jesus’ resurrection, “So Much Grace,” a song that artfully depicts Jesus’ response of total love to our failure and imperfections and “Beautiful Jesus,” a captivating song of friendship that illustrates an honest and intimate conversation with God.

The full Beautiful Surrender track listing follows:

01)  Beautiful Surrender

02)  You Came (Lazarus)

03)  Find Me

04)  Outrageous Love

05)  Strength

06)  The Gospel

07)  So Much Grace

08)  Beautiful Jesus

09)  First Love

10)  Abba (Arms Of The Father)

11)  Catch The Wind

12)  No Longer Slaves (Radio Remix) (Bonus Track)


About Jonathan David & Melissa Helser:

Jonathan David and Melissa Helser have been part of the Bethel Music Collective since 2014, bringing with them a rich history of passionate worship. Beautiful Surrender follows the couple’s acclaimed 2012 album, On the Shores. The Helser’s are also featured on Bethel Music’s latest albums, Have It All (“Thank You”) and We Will Not Be Shaken (“No Longer Slaves”). They have further authored such well-known songs as “Abba,” “Endless Ocean,” “On the Shores” and “Explode My Soul.”

In addition to worship leading and songwriting, the Helser’s have devoted their lives to discipleship for the last 16 years. They facilitate the multi-generational ministry, A Place for the Heart, where they lead a school known as the 18 Inch Journey. They also lead the Cageless Birds, an artist collective whose mission is to craft songs, art, and goods that encourage others into wholeness and freedom as children of God. When they are not traveling, The Helser’s reside with their two children in Sophia, NC.

Source: Hoganson Media

Buy Beautiful Surrender on iTunes here

Connect With Jonathan David & Melissa Helser
Facebook | TwitterWebsiteInstagram (Jonathan) | Instagram (Melissa)

“Get Plugged In!” To JesusWired
Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Email | Pinterest | Instagram | Soundcloud | RSS